Appellate Courts / First Instance Courts / High Courts / Judiciary (general) / Minor Courts Justices of the Peace / Supreme Courts (Highest Instance) / Judicial Map

Supreme Courts (Highest Instance)

The Supreme Court was created under the new constitution to replace the Privy Council. , established in December 2000 . The court decides on constitutional issues and on appeals from the Gambia Court of Appeal. The Court is composed of 5 judges including the chief justice.

Supreme Court

Appellate Courts

The Gambia Court of Appeal is presided over by the President of the Court of Appeal and is constituted by three judges. The court hears appeals from the High Court.

Court of Appeal

High Courts

The High Court is established by S.131(1) of the 1997 Constitution of the Gambia. The court is composed of a chief justice and 7 justices.

High Court Banjul
High Court Basse
High Court Brikama
High Court Mansa Konko

First Instance Courts

There are eight magistrates' courts. The largest magistrates' court is in Kanifing

Magistrates' Court
Magistrates' Court Banjul
Magistrates' Court Brikama
Magistrates' Court Bundung
Magistrates' Court Kanifing

Minor Courts Justices of the Peace

The Cadi courts have jurisdiction to apply the Shari’a in matters of marriage, divorce, child custody and inheritance where the parties or other interested parties are Muslims. A panel consisting of the Cadi and two other scholars of the Sharia preside at hearings at first instance. Appeals against decisions of Cadi courts are made to the High Court.
District tribunals are located in the five administrative centres of the country ( 4 regions and the 2 Municipalities Banjul and Kanifing) and deal with matters under traditional laws and custom.

Cadi Courts / Muslim Courts
District Tribunals
Cadi Court Banjul
Cadi Court Kanifing

Judiciary (general)

Gambia Court Structure Description

© Copyright 1996-2010 Lexadin
Document Created at August 20, 1996
Last Update june 09 2010